NBA unveils new trophy designs for award winners, including the Michael Jordan Trophy for the league’s MVP

Dec 13, 2022, 8:47 AM
The Michael Jordan Trophy, to be awarded to the NBA's MVP. (photo courtesy NBA)
(photo courtesy NBA)

Future NBA most valuable players will now get a redesigned trophy depicting one of the best players in league history, Michael Jordan.

In a press release Tuesday morning, the league announced it is rebranding six of its Kia Performance Award trophies designed after NBA legends. The players and the awards they’re attached to include:

  • The Jerry West Trophy –  Awarded to the Kia NBA Clutch Player of the Year
  • The Hakeem Olajuwon Trophy – Awarded to the Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year
  • The Wilt Chamberlain Trophy – Awarded to the Kia NBA Rookie of the Year
  • The John Havlicek Trophy – Awarded to the Kia NBA Sixth Man of the Year
  • The George Mikan Trophy – Awarded to the Kia NBA Most Improved Player of the Year

“Our new collection of trophies celebrates some of the greatest and most impactful players in the history of the NBA,” NBA Commissioner Adam Silver said in the league’s statement. “As we recognize the league’s top performers each season, we also pay tribute to the legends who embody these prestigious awards.”

Mark Smith, retired VP of Innovation Special Projects at Nike, Inc., and Jordan Brand designer, worked with Michael Jordan on the design of the trophy. During his 15-year career, Jordan won the league MVP award five times, six NBA Finals and six NBA Finals MVP awards, three NBA All-Star Game MVPs, 10 scoring titles and a plethora of additional honors.

“Sculpting Michael’s vision of his own pursuit of athletic achievement into this award has been the opportunity and challenge of a lifetime,” Smith said in a statement. “As we worked together on this project, it was very important to Michael that the figure not be a likeness of him, but instead that the recipient should be able to see himself in the award. For Michael, naming the award in his honor was recognition enough.”



Zion Williamson #1 talks with Willy Hernangomez #9 of the New Orleans Pelicans while on the bench d...
Joseph Jarosz

Barkley believes Domantas Sabonis deserved All-Star starter nod over Zion Williamson

NBA analyst Charles Barkley says Zion Williamson should not be a starter in the NBA All-Star game because of the time he's missed.
19 hours ago
Keegan Murray #13 of the Sacramento Kings shoots a three-point basket over Xavier Tillman #2 of the...
Joseph Jarosz

Chris Biderman on the Sacramento Kings roster and the team’s search for a backup big

The Sacramento Bee's Chris Biderman joins Deuce & Mo to talk about the Sacramento Kings roster and help preview the NFL playoffs.
2 days ago
Shake Milton #18 of the Philadelphia 76ers shoots past Harrison Barnes #40 of the Sacramento Kings ...
Joseph Jarosz

Jason Anderson says Harrison Barnes is nearly untouchable right now

Sacramento Kings reporter for the Sacramento Bee Jason Anderson joined Cattles & Ramie to talk about how important Harrison Barnes has been.
3 days ago
Domantas Sabonis #10 of the Sacramento Kings dunks the ball on Xavier Tillman #2 and Jaren Jackson ...
Joseph Jarosz

Sam Amick explains why Domantas Sabonis should be an All-Star starter

The Athletic's Sam Amick explains to Deuce and Mo why Sacramento Kings center Domantas Sabonis should be a starter at the All-Star game.
3 days ago
A detail of an official Spalding basketball going through the net with an offical logo of the 2012 ...
Joseph Jarosz

NBA announces All-Star draft happening live before All-Star game

The NBA announced the All-Star game will feature the draft live right right before the game takes place in Salt Lake City.
3 days ago
Jalen Green #4 of the Houston Rockets goes up for a shot on Domantas Sabonis #10 of the Sacramento ...
Joseph Jarosz

Kenny Thomas says the Kings should add a backup big before next season

Former Sacramento Kings forward and current NBC Sports analyst Kenny Thomas shares his thoughts on the team's roster and organization.
3 days ago
NBA unveils new trophy designs for award winners, including the Michael Jordan Trophy for the league’s MVP